back to latest news

LRSN chairman presented with inaugural President’s Award

LRSN’s chairman, Meryl Ward, has been presented with the inaugural Lincolnshire Agricultural Society President’s Award.

The award was made at the Society’s Annual General Meeting on Monday 7 January at the Lincolnshire Showground. The awards are made to an individual in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the advancement of agriculture in Lincolnshire.

President of the Agricultural Society, Janet Godfrey (pictured above with Meryl) presented the award and said: “The Society launched the award last summer, with the aim of recognising excellence in science and technology, the environment, land and business management. A number of nominations were received, all of which were excellent candidates. The President, Past President and President-Elect then got together with the Chairman to decide which one was the most deserving. It being the first time we have awarded the Trophy, there is obviously a backlog of worthy candidates and it was by no means an easy task!

“We selected Meryl Ward because of her multiple and diverse contributions to the food and farming industry both nationally and within the county. She is an excellent leader and motivator as well as being an entrepreneur. Uncle Henry’s, her pig and farming enterprises are all examples of best practice. Her work within LRSN also demonstrates her selfless contribution to the industry. It was this wide contribution that marked her out as the first recipient of the President’s Award and all the judges agreed unanimously.”

Meryl and her family farm at Waddingham, north of Lincoln and run the successful Uncle Henry’s Farm Shop as well as pig and arable enterprises. Meryl was appointed the chairman of Lincolnshire Rural Support Network in 2012 and has employed her business skills and industry contacts to develop LRSN’s profile, raise funds and to deliver its much-needed services and support.

On the wider stage, Meryl was awarded the MBE in 2013 for her work on pig welfare; she was a member of the AHDB Pork board from 2003 to 2017 and is currently a trustee of the Farmers’ Club Charitable Trust Committee. She is a Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Society.

The Lincolnshire Agricultural Society celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2019; the year began with the AGM attended by 250 society members and friends, who raised a toast to the Society’s future.